Backlog Page Overview

mceclip0.png

 

The Backlog in Shortcut is a new page designed to help you better sort, manage and prioritize work before it properly makes its way into a Workflow. 

The Backlog page in Shortcut will enable users to: 

  • See un-planned/new/under-defined Stories separately from active work
  • Have confidence that the work they are scheduling from the backlog is ready
  • Make it easy for everyone in your organization to locate where Backlog items are in Shortcut

Workflow State Settings

  • Workflows State settings page - the ability to add Backlog states (before Unstarted)

Get Started with Backlog

Admins and Owners can go to the Workflow State Settings Page to add Backlog workflow states to existing workflows. You can also create a new workflow that is dedicated to your Backlog process by creating a new workflow and adding only Backlog states.

 

 

Add Stories to a Backlog

Create a Story and select a Backlog Workflow State. Any Story in a Backlog Workflow State will appear on the Backlog Page.

View your Backlog

Go to the Backlog page to search, or filter by 

  • Story Type
  • Team
  • Owner
  • Epics
  • Labels

 

Organize your Backlog

Drag-and-drop Stories up or down in priority order, assign owners, apply labels, and add additional metadata with Advanced Custom Fields.

To drag-and-drop to a custom order, click on the dotted far left option, this will enable a manual sort order.

 

 

Schedule work from your Backlog

Assign work to an iteration directly from the Backlog to bulk-prioritize work. There are many ways to schedule Backlog work to an iteration:

Use the Iteration column to one-by-one assign a story to an iteration

 

Right click on any story to use the Move to Current Iteration or Move to Next Iteration to schedule around ongoing or upcoming iterations. 

 

Use the bulk edit option by selecting far-left which stories you'd like to schedule. 

Then select the Iteration dropdown to bulk-add to an iteration. 

 

Organize your view

Change up your view to different groupings to prioritize work according to different dimensions using the Group By option top-right.

You can also customize which columns appear using the Display option per-user to make your view organized to only the information that matters to you. 

 

 


How do I give feedback?

Please share any feedback in our backlog-beta channel in Discord 

 


FAQs

Q: Can anyone access and use the Backlog? 

A: Yes, members, owners, and admins can all interact with, and assign Stories to the Backlog. Observers have a read-only view of Backlog. 

 

Q: Who can add a Backlog state to a workflow? 

A: Only Admins and Owners in your organization can add a Backlog state to a workflow. 

Updated

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request